What is My Star Sign?: How to Figure Out Your Star Sign

Are you asking yourself, “What is my star sign?” If so, check out this guide to learn how to figure out your star sign.

The oldest horoscope that’s been discovered so far was dated April 29, 410, BC.  That’s a long time for humanity to look to the skies for answers about their lives. 

Some people have no idea about zodiac symbols while others question their validity. However, much of it has to do with a lack of knowledge. That’s about to change.

If you’ve ever wondered, “what is my star sign,” keep reading. We’re sharing everything you need to know to understand astrology.

What is My Star Sign?

There are actually three main signs you should know about to truly understand astrology. They are rising sign, moon sign, and sun sign. 

The sun sign and star sign are the same things. They are easily calculated based on the month and date of your birth. 

Once you find out your star sign, explore products associated with them. 

Zodiac Dates

This is often what people are asking you about when they ask what your sign is. While there are 12-star signs, they do not begin in January when the calendar year begins. 

Instead, they are based on the seasons. Your star sign is calculated by the path of the Sun against the sky. 

That’s called the ecliptic as it travels through an imaginary 360-degree circle known as the zodiac. 

Order of Zodiac Dates

Here is the order star or sun signs follow:


Those who are ruled under the Aries sign were born between March 21 and April 19. Aries is the sign of the Warrior and is the first sign of the astrological calendar. 

The Aries symbol is the ram’s horns. Aries strengths are being hopeful, active, brave, and curious. 

Their weaknesses are being impulsive, impatient, and quarrelsome. 


Those who are ruled under the sign of Taurus were born between April 20 and May 20. Taurus is the first of the earth signs.

Taurus is the sign of the bull. Some of Taurus’ strengths are being romantic, kind, and hard-working. 

Their weaknesses are being needy, stubborn, and prejudiced. 


Those who are ruled by the sign of Gemini were born between May 22nd and June 21st. Gemini’s ruling planet is Mercury. 

It’s the sign of the celestial twins and often those who are Gemini’s possess a duality to their nature. Gemini’s are known to be insightful, warm, and cheerful.

They’re also known for being fickle and gossipy. 


Those who were born under the sign of Cancer were born between June 22nd and July 23rd. Cancer is the first water sign and Cancers are ruled by the changeable moon. 

Cancer’s symbol is the crab. Those who were born under the Cancer sign are known to possess a strong sixth sense. They’re also kind and imaginative. 

However, they’re also known to be prudish, sensitive, and possessive.


Those born under the sign of Leo were born between July 24th and August 23rd. Leo is ruled by the sun. 

Leo’s symbol is the lion. Those who were born under the Leo sign are known for being proud, loyal, and reflective.

However, they’re also known for being arrogant, wasteful, and indulgent. 


Those born under the Virgo sign were born between August 24th and September 23rd. Virgo is ruled by Mercury. It’s also associated with the Virgin.

Those who are Virgos are known for being helpful, practical, and perfectionists. However, they’re also known to be fussy, limiting, and a bit nosey. 


Libra’s were born between September 24th and October 23rd. Their symbol is Scales which relates to fairness, partnership, and balance.

They are known for being idealistic, artistic, and possess strong social skills. However, they can also be careless, lazy, and a bit egotistical.  


Scorpio’s were born between October 24th and November 22nd. Their symbol is the scorpion which is associated with life, death, and sexuality. 

Scorpio is a fixed water sign. Their strengths are being intuitive, sensible, and intelligent. 

However, they can also be suspicious, possessive, and arrogant.  


Those born under the Sagittarius sign were born between November 23rd and December 21st. Their symbol is the Archer that is also a Centaur. 

Sagittariuses are known for being insightful, brave, and optimistic. However, they can also be forgetful, rash, and unthinking. 


Those born under the Capricorn sign were born between December 22nd and January 20th. Their symbol is the goat which is an earth sign. 

Capricorns are known for being generous, persistent, and practical. However, they can also be stubborn, solitary, and sometimes a little too suspicious. 


Those who were born under the Aquarius sign were born between January 21st and February 19th. Aquarius’ symbol is the Water Bearer in astrology. 

However, despite that, it’s actually an air sign. Aquarius is ruled by Uranus. 

Positive Aquarius traits are being tolerant, practical, and unique. But they can also be disobedient, rebellious, and hasty. 

Known as the Water Bearer in astrology, Aquarius is actually an Air sign. It is ruled by Uranus, and its qualities are rebelliousness, originality and perhaps more than just a touch of genius. The dates for the Sun in Aquarius are January 21st to February 19th.


Those who are Pisceans were born between February 20th and March 20th. And as the last sign of the Zodiac, Pisces is said to contain qualities of all the signs. 

The symbol of Pisces is two fish swimming in opposite directions. They are known for being conscious, friendly, and dedicated. However, they can also be overly sentimental, tend to retreat into themselves, and are often unrealistic. 

Moon Sign

The moon sign relates to the parts most of us often keep hidden from ourselves and others. It’s the private and more emotional parts of your personality. 

To calculate your moon sign, you’ll need your full birth date, including the year. You’ll also need the exact time and time zone you were born in to find out what your moon sign is. 

Once you have that information, you can then consult with a professional astrologer or use an online moon sign calculator to find out which sign rules your lunar self. 

Rising Sign

The rising sign is also known as your ascendant. These are the sign that rules the first house of your zodiac chart. It’s known as the house of self and is where your chart begins. 

To calculate your rising sign/ascendant, you’ll need to know the exact birth time, place, date, and year. Keep in mind rising signs change every few hours. 

That means that even those people born on the exact same date can very likely have completely different rising signs. 

Explore Your Birthday Numbers

Now that what is my star sign is answered, you can start exploring more information about your birthday numbers. We can help you get started.

To learn more, explore the other sections of our blog.